Famous Hobartville hurtles into more history

Posted on by Hobartville Stud

Hurtle Myrtle’s strong win in the $500,000 Myer Classic (1600m) at Flemington on Saturday saw this 5-year-old mare from the first crop of the Kitchwin Hills stud’s Danehill sire Dane Shadow added to the long list of Group 1 winners produced by one of Australia’s longest established active horse studs.

Now owned by Sydney businessman Grahame Mapp and under the management of Hawkesbury trainer Garry White, it is the Hobartville Stud and it is on the fringe of the Hawkesbury River serviced town of Richmond.

Since Hobartville was settled in1828 by William Cox Jnr, a son of the man who constructed the first road over the Blue Mountains and who is ancestor of Magic Millions Sales Company managing director Vin Cox, it has had numerous owners and produced hundreds of horses, and top stud cattle. In the mid to late 1800s, Hobartville was owned by Andrew Town, the biggest horse owner in Australia for a time. He had a number of good sires in use, including Maribyrnong, one the greatest colonial sires, another very good local winner getter in1880 Melbourne Cup winner Grand Flaneur and the champion sire Trenton.The latter did his first season at Hobartville and then moved to Victoria.

Grand Flaneur sired the Melbourne Cup winners Bravo (dam by Maribyrnong) and Patron. Possibly it is only coincidental, but Maribyrnong was bred in Victoria by a major player in early Australian breeding Hurtle Fisher. Hurtle now joins with Myrtle to provide the name of the latest Group1 winner to come off Hobartville.

There have been few more Hobartville saturated products than Hurtle Myrtle as her sire, Dane Shadow, and her first two dams, Ravenswood (a good Sydney sprinter by the Mr. Prospector sire Woodman) and Winds of Peace (Bletchingly placegetter), were all bred by Grahame Mapp and reared on the property. The success of Hurtle Myrtle continued that which Mapp has enjoyed in Hobartville ownership in the past quarter century. It is a success that boomed off to a big start when he bred Winds of Peace’s brother Star Watch, the champion 2-year-old of 1988, the year he won four races in Sydney, including the Golden Slipper, Skyline Stakes and Kindergarten Stakes.

Raced by the Inghams and trainer Tommy Smith and competed eleven times all told, Star Watch at three won the AJC Up and Coming Stakes, finished second in the VRC Ascot Vale Stakes and third in the Moonee Valley Stakes. Amazingly, the bottom line of the pedigrees of Hurtle Myrtle and Star Watch runs back to Gaillardia, a Trenton mare bred on Hobartville by Andrew Towns. She was from a sister to Grand Flaneur, a winner, besides the Melbourne Cup, of both the VRC and AJC Derbys.

The win on Saturday by Hurtle Myrtle was well deserved as she had been on the threshold of Group1 success on several occasions. Her 19 starts also include wins in two Group 2s, the Dane Ripper Stakes (Brisbane) and Sapphire Stakes (Sydney), three Group 2 seconds and a Group1 third (the Flight Stakes) in Sydney. She was a handy fifth of 17 in the Group 1 Coolmore at Rosehill Gardens.

Raced by nine owners out of the Matthew Smith stables at Warwick Farm, Hurtle Myrtle was sold for Hobartville by Kitchwin Hills for $55,000 at the 2008 Inglis Classic yearling sale in Sydney. She is the third Group1 winner for Dane Shadow, sharing this distinction with Shellscrape, an AJC Galaxy winner now looking after his first book of mares at the newly established Wattle Grove stud at Berrima, NSW, and Shadows In The Sun, a South Australian Derby winner. Like Hurtle Myrtle, Shadows In The Sun was bred by Hobartville.

The foundation sire at the Kitchwin Hills stud, one located near the junction of the Pages and Isis rivers in the Upper Hunter, Dane Shadow was a smart racehorse whose12 outings secured six stakes cheques in Sydney, a win in the Ming Dynasty, seconds in the Up and Coming, Silver Slipper and Todman Slipper Trial, a third in the Missile Stakes and fourth in the George Main.

Dane Shadow stands at Kitchwin Hills with 2010 retired Duporth, a Red Ransom Co-Champion 3YO Sprinter of 2008-09.

November 3, 2011
Australian Thoroughbred
Brian Russell Bloodstock Media Service